Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to $8.70 per hour on January 1, 2014, according to a release from State Labor Commissioner Sharon Palmer.
The current minimum wage in Connecticut is $8.25 an hour.
“This increase to $8.70 is the first part of a two-year increase in the minimum wage,” Palmer added in the release. “On January 1, 2015, in accordance with Public Act 13-117, Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to $9.00.”
Although the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25, Connecticut businesses must pay the state minimum wage.
Under section 31-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes and Public Act 13-117, the Connecticut minimum wage rate for service employees, specifically restaurant wait staff and bartenders, is determined by using a formula that takes tip deductions into account.
The rates can be found on the Connecticut Department of Labor’s website atwww.ct.gov/dol, or by contacting the Labor Department’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards at (860) 263-6790.